Meet Brooke Hall

The Oklahoma Hall of Fame has selected 39 Oklahoma high school students to serve on its 2017-2018 Teen Board.

“The Oklahoma Hall of Fame is composed of the most notable and talented people of Oklahoma's history, and the Teen Board echoes this. The diverse and talented group of teenagers that make up this board work hard to embody every aspect of the Oklahoma Hall of Fame,” said Alex Gray, Oklahoma Hall of Fame Teen Board Chairman.

The Oklahoma Hall of Fame Teen Board offers ninth- through 12th-grade students the opportunity to promote Oklahoma while at the same time learn skills that include event planning, fundraising and collaborative group work. Students also have the opportunity to meet Oklahoma Hall of Fame members during their several meetings throughout the term.

“We are proud of the history and heritage of Oklahoma and the legacy that we will leave. I am looking forward to the great year we will have and all of the things we will learn from each other,” Gray said.

The Teen Board is responsible for planning and implementing an annual fundraiser, the Oklahoma Hall of Fame Hustle 5K and 1-Mile Fun Run, set for March 3. In its 10 years, the board has raised about $160,000 for the organization's educational programs through this event.

The Teen Board is the largest donor to the Oklahoma Hall of Fame's Free Field Trip program that provides lunch and a tour of the Gaylord-Pickens Museum for 3,000 Oklahoma students, according to information released by the organization. It also sponsors an annual $1,000 scholarship for a high school student through the Oklahoma Scholarship Competition.

Teen Board members were selected after an application and interview process. The board term runs from August to March.

The 2017-2018 Teen Board consists of 39 students from 17 different schools across the state.

Teen Board participants include Saad Anwar, Summer Anwar, Max Baetz, Nia Blackwell, Monique Calingasan, Quinn Cooper, Sophia Darrow, Lauren Emerson, Audrey Estes, Alex Gray, Reid Grigsby, Jade Gonzales, Jenny Ha, Katherine Hill, Jack Jacobi, Ryan Johnson, Tobias Johnson, Eliza Kent, Cabrini Klepper, Kayla Layman, Lydia Lytle, Elijah Morris, Ashley Nguyen, Rose Nguyen, John "Preston" Parsons, Coleman Prince, Mohaamad Raja, Kelsey Rice, Brooke Robbins, Geena Safo, Luke Schwartz, Nicholas Sayegh, Lauren Stephens, Brooke Strickland, Megan Szymanski, Meg Tebow, Johnathan Tully, Ford Watkins and Oscar Zepeda.

Established in 2007, the Teen Board works in concert with the 90-year-old Oklahoma Hall of Fame to promote Oklahoma pride and history.

For more information about the Teen Board, Oklahoma Hall of Fame or Gaylord-Pickens Museum, go to or contact Jeff Jacobsen at, or 523-3208.

Related to this story

Show more >0
You might also be interested in...

Source :

Oklahoma Hall of Fame selects 10th Teen Board class
Unbreakable strides of Pojoaque’s Hall, Torrez
CROSS COUNTRY: Oliveira leads Lyman Hall to Wallingford sweep; Sheehan’s Brown takes girls crown
Casino Night, Four Centuries, and more... Plainfield has Plenty on TAP this Weekend
St. Clairsville Hall of Fame to induct three
Conference field gets away from Bobcats
Uber Seattle GM talks about lessons learned from hectic growth period at ride-hailing giant
MONDAY’S PREP ROUNDUP: Carlinville, Staunton claim SCC cross country titles
Thrown for a loop — changes coming to campus landmark, longtime tailgate space
[LIMITED STOCK!] Related eBay Products